Gardening

Spring Onions

Hey guys! So, my husband is going to be back very soon and I’ve realized I have so many unfinished projects. I’ve been hanging curtains, pictures, and donating bags full of stuff. Organizing and decluttering my house has helped me refocus back to my favorite hobbies. For example, my gardening. If you guys recall my last gardening post, my current plants were basil and broccoli. I made a slight error and over watered my basil. I didn’t take the colder weather into consideration when watering and the roots rotted. On an even sadder note, something (most likely a caterpillar) ate the leaves of my broccoli. I think it’s still salvageable, but I need to do some more research. Right now it’s 31 degrees outside. Because of this, I’ve chosen to take on a smaller project that I can do indoors.

img_0854

I love the fresh taste of spring onions. But, ever time I purchase a bushel at the supermarket, 75% of it goes bad. I hate wasting food. So, I decided to  grow my own. I started my plants by cutting four, store bought spring onions down to the white part. I put them in a small plastic bowl with water for about two weeks.

img_0865

I pruned the spring onions and prepared them for their new home. By the way, I bought this glass mug at dollar tree.

img_0881

My plants needed some extra support since they grew side ways in the plastic container. I found these medium sized skewers at the grocery store and mini clothespins at Hobby Lobby.

img_0867

This was my final product. The mug fits in my kitchen windowsill so it gets plenty of sunlight and is protected from the cold at the same time. On Pinterest, you can can find ways to home grow other things you may purchase regularly (carrots, celery, etc.)

Thanks for reading and I really hope you guys enjoyed this post. Until next time!

-Kenia

 

Leave a Reply

