Gardening

Balcony Garden

Hello again! It’s been a while since I last posted, but with good reason. Not much has been going on and I didn’t feel it necessary to bore everyone with my commentary on the latest Dr Phil. I’ve also been going through a hard time emotionally after some news from my doctor. To help me with this, my brother suggested I start a new hobby. I have a lot of hobbies truthfully speaking. There is a short list of things I’d like to do, but for whatever reason couldn’t at the time I thought of it. One of the things on that list was gardening.

 I’ve always dreamt of a huge garden full of produce. I care about what I eat and most of the time I don’t know where it comes from. I learned from working at a farmers market and doing some research, that food in stores really can’t be trusted. Neither can the label “organic.” Every year, my local farmers market brings in the spring by selling baby produce plants. I decided to take full advantage of this and purchase a basil, sweet pepper, and lettuce plant. I have a small balcony so I couldn’t afford to get too much more yet.   They have grown a little bit, but they’ve also gotten a little messed up (it got extremely cold one night and burned them). But either way, this is a new hobby I really enjoy. I feel so excited when I see that they’ve grown. I feel happy when they look healthy. I still have a long way to go, but I’m still going to give myself the title of gardener.

Till next time,

Kenia

Leave a Reply

